开发自动化叉车的5个商业理由

当今许多领先的叉车制造商都会提供自动叉车。无论如何,有些公司并没有,因此其公司产品组合并没有准备好充分利用自动导航车辆(AGV)市场的增长。您的公司也是其中之一吗?

当然,对于起重机制造商而言,提供自动叉车可能会蚕食现有收入。因此,采用这种方式扩展产品组合肯定需要谨慎管理。 但是,不发展自动导航车辆的潜在弊端可能更大。

在BlueBotics,我们看到了您的叉车业务应该马上采取行动的五个关键原因,您应投放时间和所需资源为车队添加自动化选项。

1.在不断发展的市场中保持一席之地!

数据非常清楚!工业车辆市场正朝着自动化方向快速发展。根据国际机器人联合会的数据,自动导航车辆(AGV)是服务型机器人领域中最大及增长最快的市场,预计明年将会达到70万辆的车辆销量。制造业和仓库储存是推动增长的两大市场领域,预计两者结合将占据超过75%的未来销售额!

因此,我们可以预估手动叉车拥有者将越来越密切关注无人驾驶解决方案。公司这样做的原因有很多:在某些情况下,公司的目标纯粹是财务 – 减少员工人数。 但是,也许更常见的原因是,自动导航车两(AGVs)能够应对雇用和保留叉车司机的真正挑战。公司可能也希望通过减少可记录事故的次数以提高现场安全性。 越来越多公司也在考虑创建更好的抵御能力,以应对不可预见的外部压力,例如:新冠肺炎(COVID-19)疫情导致的压力。

简而言之,如果您选择不增设产品供应并使得叉车自动化,将来即使是忠于品牌的客户也可能会开始寻找其他公司。

开发自动化叉车的个商业理由
当客户希望使其车队自动化,您为什么要承担将客户流失给竞争对手的风险? | 图片来源:LIFTCO

2.吸引新客户

所谓的自动导航叉车(AGFs)的销售,并不仅局限于希望更换手动车辆的客户群。 通过开设新的全自动绿地工厂和物流/配送中心,也会因此而产生更多的收入流。

参与此类项目的组织可能是您从未接触过的公司(或公司的部门)。供应自动叉车,加上稳健可靠的销售和行销支持,将能够确保上述情况不会发生。

3.提高效率

如果您开发了自动叉车,您可以使用自动叉车并从中受益。

通过使用自己的自动导航车辆(AGV)使得内部流程自动化(例如:在仓库中提取或放置物品,或在车间从一个站点到另一个站点移动物料),您都可以获得自动导航车辆众所周知的效率优势,以较低的总成本生产自己的产品,并有可能扩大您的生产规模,例如:转向全天候24/7作业模式。

最重要的是,通过在实际环境中安装和使用自动导航车辆,您将会大大提高您对未来AGV客户及其需求的了解。

开发自动化叉车的5个商业理由
如果您拥有自己的AGV,您可以使用它们提高未来车辆的生产效率。 | 图片来源:NKC

4.吸引高端人才

对于高素质的新毕业生而言,移动机器人技术是一个具有吸引力的领域,这可能比从事手动车辆更重要。因此,如果您在路线图中添加自动叉车,则可以扩展您的人才库,引进富有价值的新技能和观点。

同样,自动化的新挑战可能会帮助您留住现有的员工,而这些员工本来可能会受到其他地方诱惑而离职。

5.塑造现代化品牌

印象很重要! 没有提供自动叉车的起重机供应商可能会被视为“老派”或过时的公司。

当然,寻找车辆供应商的公司仍然非常看重拥有悠久历史的公司。但是,他们也希望确保自己的供应商在将来仍然保持强大,不会随着市场发展而逐渐淘汰。

如果您的企业能够提供手动和自动化两种车辆,这将会提升您的品牌知名度 – 确保您的公司被视为现代化及面向未来的企业,同时也保持作为长期备受推崇的车辆供应商信誉。

了解更多

有兴趣了解更多信息吗?我们已经制作了免费的车辆自动化电子书指南。 点击此处下载文档:车辆自动化指南或联系我们

Matt Wade

Head of Marketing | BlueBotics I'm an ex-journalist and love explaining how technology can be used to solve business challenges.
BlueBotics - 您的车辆导航合作伙伴

让我们开始吧

迈出第一步,使您的车辆自动化。请立即与我们的专家团队联系!

5 business reasons to develop automated forklifts

Many of today’s leading lift truck manufacturers offer automated forklifts. However, there are several companies who do not, and whose product portfolios are therefore not ready to capitalize on the growth of the AGV market. Is your business one of these?

It is true that, for a lift truck maker, offering automated forklifts could risk cannibalizing existing revenues, so widening your product offer in this way definitely requires careful management. However, the potential downsides of not developing autonomous vehicles are arguably greater.

At BlueBotics we see five key reasons why your forklift business should act now, devoting the time and resources required to add automated options to your fleet.

1. Retain your share of an evolving market

The data is clear – the industrial vehicle market is moving ever more quickly towards automation. According to the International Federation of Robotics, automated guided vehicles (AGVs) are the largest and the fastest growing market in service robotics, forecast to account for unit sales of over 700,000 vehicles by next year. Manufacturing and warehousing are the two market segments driving this growth, together expected to account for over 75% of future sales.

We can therefore assume owners of manual lift trucks will continue to look more and more closely into driverless solutions. Companies have a range of reasons for this: in some cases, a firm’s goal is purely financial – to reduce its headcount. Perhaps a more common reason however is that AGVs answer the very real challenge of hiring and retaining forklift drivers. Companies might also be looking to improve on-site safety by reducing their number of recordable incidents. And increasingly, firms are also thinking about building better resilience to unforeseen external pressures, such as those created by COVID-19.

In short, if you choose not to supplement your offer and automate forklifts, in future even brand-loyal clients are likely to start looking elsewhere.

Business reasons to create automated forklifts
Why risk losing customers to competitors as they look to automate their fleets? | Image credit: LIFTCO

2. Attract new customers

Sales of so-called automated guided forklifts (AGFs) are not only driven by customers looking to replace their manual vehicles. Additional revenue streams are also being generated through the opening of new fully automated greenfield plants and logistics/distribution centers.

The organizations involved in such projects could be companies (or divisions of companies) that you have never been in contact with. An automated forklift offer, supported by solid sales and marketing, should ensure this doesn’t remain the case.

3. Improve your efficiency

If you have developed automated forklifts, you can use and gain the benefits of automated forklifts.

By automating your internal processes with your own AGVs – such as picking and dropping in your warehouse, or moving materials from station to station on the shopfloor – you can gain the efficiency benefits AGVs are known for, produce your own products at lower overall cost, and potentially scale up your production, for example by moving to 24/7 operation.

Best of all, by installing and using your AGVs in a real-world environment, you will vastly improve your understanding of your future AGV customers and their requirements.

5 business reasons to automate forklifts
If you have your own AGVs, you can use these to make your production of future vehicles more efficient. | Image credit: NKC

4. Entice high-level talent

Mobile robotics is an attractive field for new high-caliber graduates, perhaps more so than working on manual vehicles. Therefore, if you add automated forklifts to your roadmap you can expect to widen your talent base, bringing in valuable new skillsets and perspectives.

Similarly, the new challenge of automation may help you to retain existing staff who might otherwise have been tempted elsewhere.

5. Modernize your brand

Perception matters. Lift truck suppliers without automated forklifts can be seen as ‘old school’ or outdated.

Of course, companies that are looking for a vehicle supplier still very much value a company with a long track record. But they also want to feel sure their supplier will remain just as strong in the future, not potentially fade away as the market evolves.

If your business is able to offer both manual and automated vehicles, this will only strengthen your brand perception – ensuring your organization is perceived as modern and future-facing, while upholding its reputation as a longstanding, highly respected vehicle supplier.

Learn more

Interested in learning more? We’ve developed a free vehicle automation ebook. Download this here: Vehicle Automation Answers, or get in touch.

Matt Wade

Head of Marketing | BlueBotics I'm an ex-journalist and love explaining how technology can be used to solve business challenges.
BlueBotics_mini_lite_robot

Let's Get Started

Take the first step to automating your vehicle.
Schedule a call with our expert team today.