确保自动导航车(AGV)调试成功的7大秘诀

当您需要让客户满意并确保AGV能创造盈利时,快速高效调试就是目标。

BlueBotics专家工程师团队已在全球各地完成安装,并帮助客户安装了数百辆自动导航车和移动机器人。 以下是我们确保AGV调试成功的七个主要秘诀。

1.计划、计划、再计划!

您越了解客户站点,以及他们的自动导航车运行方式,AGV调试过程将会更加顺利。

“理想的安装应该在AGV买方做好充分准备后才进行,这可以帮助您做好充分准备。”

GUILLAUME ROSA-SERRANO – BlueBotics系统工程师

当然,这意味着您的客户必需深入考虑他们需要的AGV操作。

为了确保这种情况,以下是您抵达现场之前所需的快速问题清单:

安装前检查清单

  • 您的客户希望其AGV执行哪些独立任务(工作目标)?
  • 每辆车将在哪里接收、放置、充电和停放?
  • 客户是否已经建议车辆路线?如果有,这些路线能否在最小化每辆AGV行进距离与现场安全性(其他车辆、人流等方面)之间取得适当平衡?
  • 客户是否已正确测量其AGV的建议路径?您可能会惊讶于有多少AGV购买者在测量时犯了一个错误,有时候,这意味着路径根本不够宽。
  • AGV需要与哪些设备和机械进行交互(例如:自动门、机器接口、电梯等)?
  • 如果需要,客户端Wi-Fi网络是否到位,以及网络信号在整个站点中是否足够强大?
  • 客户计划使用什么软件来管理其AGV任务?您是否期望提供此功能(例如:如果车辆由BlueBotics的ANTlite +技术驱动可以使用ANT server服务器软件),或者需要采用API通过客户现有的WMS、MES或ERP系统连接和管理AGV任务?请确保您对此进行周详计划,并确保您的客户完全了解这种集成可能涉及的时间和工作。
  • AGV可以在哪里进行现场校准而不会干扰运作?这个区域应该是平坦、光滑、足够宽大且没有杂物的区域。
  • 无论是多么细微的要求,请务必清楚传达您希望客户提前完成的工作(例如:安装电池充电器的电源线)。
  • 最后,请确保您的主要客户联系者人在现场并在调试过程留守。缺少他们的情况下,其他同事可能会害怕做出决定,从而拖慢项目进度并令人感到沮丧。

“理想的安装应该在AGV买方做好充分准备后才进行,这可以帮助您做好充分准备。” BlueBotics系统工程师Guillaume Rosa-Serrano说: “如果一切都可以提前准备,包括路线、动作、节点,那么您的安装团队只需集中精力调试车辆和绘制现场图。”

2.切勿安装尚未准备就绪的AGV

BlueBotics公司开发副总裁GrégoireTerrien指出,一家公司可能犯的最严重错误,是尝试安装尚未准备就绪的车辆。

安装自动导引车

“如果一切都能提前准备好,包括路线、动作、节点,那么您的安装团队将只需集中精力调试车辆和绘制现场图”

“许多公司(尤其是初创公司)都想要快速增长,因此急于安装尚未准备好安装的车辆。 这永远不会顺利。”他这样解释:“这意味着在客户现场有效完成车辆安装,无法顺利安装会令人留下糟糕的印象,而且通常导致车辆性能表现欠佳。”

3.密切注意环境因素

这应该是计划过程的一部分,但还是值得强调:千万不要低估细小环境因素使得调试过程陷入停顿的可能性。

系统工程师Guillaume Rosa-Serrano举例说明:“用于一家公司自动导航车的在地化激光扫描仪需位于地面2.7米处。在某客户站点上,地板以柔软V形向下倾斜至中心,以确保所有水分顺利排出。AGV应该将房间的墙壁作为参考。初始安装是在空托盘情况下进行且一切正常。但是,当添加实际货盘时,AGV总是会走失,原因在于整个货盘高2.60米并加上V型地板,这意味着AGV根本看不到任何墙面。”

一旦发现问题,团队便能够迅速纠正,但是上述例子表明考虑环境因素的必要性。

4.准备好组件

Terrien指出,在安装过程中获取车辆组件的重要性,这样可以避免延误:“这对驱动器尤其重要,您可能需要调整其参数或进行更换。另外,您也应该准备安全组件以备不时之需,例如:冗余编码器。”

一位从事AGV调试项目的工程师

5.模拟和测试

在部署客户的自动导航车(AGV)之前,请务必尝试完全模拟您创建的项目。

对于在BlueBotics的ANT lite +平台运行的自动导航车两,您将使用ANT server服务器软件进行模拟。这样不仅让您可以模拟基本任务(例如:单一车辆取货和放置),也可以模拟包括交通管理在内的整个车队运营情况。

进行全面检查的价值绝对不容低估。举例:您完全有可能提前解决所有车队的交通问题,大大降低您和您的客户最终点击“GO”正式运行时的压力水平。

“在部署客户的自动导航车(AGV)之前,请确保完全模拟您创建的项目。”

BlueBotics项目管理团队的Camille Boymond(过去是系统工程师)描述了最近的调试情况,由于预先进行模拟而使得调试顺利进行:“我们与客户(一家领先的AGV生产商)一起模拟运行了终端客户的项目,这个项目包括五辆车的安装。通过模拟项目,我们设法提前解决了所有交通问题,甚至为客户开发了可以测试的特定设备。”

Boymond指出,团队有四天时间确保一切正常运行:“我们更改了车辆的一些细节,以实现客户想要的行为,然后对所有车辆的全部位置进行了测试以确保高度精准。最终,我们在第三天已经可以验证该项目的成功。 这意味着我们有足够时间解决那些经常出现且意料之外的问题,而且我们可以让客户的AGV完全按预期方式在工厂中投入生产。”

6.确保您的客户团队训练有素

除了精心计划之外,客户本身的员工也是AGV计划成功与否的决定性因素。

成功的AGV调试项目
图片来源。Stöcklin Logistik AG

因此,你有必要鼓励客户完成以下事项:

  • 通过清晰及事先提前沟通AGV计划项目,将员工的压力和不满情绪降至最低。车辆会执行什么工作?它们将在哪里工作及如何运作?他们的员工如何与您的产品互动? 一些客户发现,“个性化”他们的AGV(为它们提供名称或添加面孔,甚至只是眼睛),可以帮助您的客户在人类与移动机器人之间建立更和谐的关系。
  • 通知员工调试时间,以及解说AGV调试过程如何进行。您的客户不会希望工作人员在过程中分心,同样地,您也不想让他们拖慢安装团队的工作。因此,请您的客户让员工充分了解情况,以免令他们感到吃惊。
  • 确保即将操作AGV的人员非常适合这项工作,并对其进行良好的培训。
  • 另外,请确保有超过一个人获得这项宝贵的教育。如果您的客户仅将所有知识授予一个团队成员,万一他们离开公司或生病,整个AGV计划的成功都将面临风险,这可能会降低您公司的未来收入。

除了对客户的AGV操作人员进行全面培训之外,创建(或帮助他们创建)操作手册也是一个好主意。您的导航技术合作伙伴(例如:BlueBotics)能为您提供帮助。

7.耐心和灵活性

调试过程很少能100%顺利进行。虽然您可以在很大程度上减少问题,但多半还是会有一些阻碍。

“成功的关键之一,就是您与客户团队的关系。保持灵活性、良好沟通并共同采用解决问题的思维方式,”系统工程师Armand Lamouille解释: “积极的协作精神将使得车辆调试车辆更有可能成功,并使得整体体验更加愉悦。”

最后,尤其您若刚开始调试AGV,请不要低估启动前对项目进行微调所需的时间。这将耗费比您想象中更长的时间,但这些时间是值得的,因为它将最大程度减少客户未来的支援请求。

您有兴趣学习更多资讯吗?

请联系我们以了解如何快速高效地调试自主导航技术(ANT)驱动的车辆。

Matt Wade

Head of Marketing | BlueBotics I'm an ex-journalist and love explaining how technology can be used to solve business challenges.
BlueBotics - 您的车辆导航合作伙伴

让我们开始吧

迈出第一步,使您的车辆自动化。请立即与我们的专家团队联系!

7 Tips to Ensure AGV Commissioning Success

When it comes to delighting customers and ensuring the profitability of your AGV sale, quick and efficient commissioning is the goal.

BlueBotics’ team of expert engineers has installed, and helped customers to install, hundreds of AGVs and mobile robots at sites around the world. Below are our seven top tips for AGV commissioning success.

1. Plan, plan and plan again

The better you understand your customer’s site, and how their automated guided vehicles will operate within it, the smoother the AGV commissioning process will run.

“An ideal installation happens when the AGV buyer is well prepared, which helps you to be well prepared”

GUILLAUME ROSA-SERRANO – BlueBotics systems engineer

This means, of course, that your customer must have considered its desired AGV operation in-depth.

To ensure that is the case, here is a quick checklist of questions to ask prior to your arrival on-site:

Pre-installation checklist

  • What separate tasks (missions) does your client want its AGVs to perform?
  • Where will each vehicle go to pick, drop, charge and park?
  • Has the client already proposed vehicle routes? If so, do these strike the right balance between minimizing the distance each AGV travels and on-site safety (in terms of other vehicles, foot traffic etc.)?
  • Has the client properly measured their AGVs’ proposed paths? You might be surprised how many AGV buyers make a mistake with their measurements, which sometimes means paths are simply not wide enough.
  • Which equipment and machinery do the AGVs need to interact with (e.g. automatic doors, machine interfaces, elevators etc.)?
  • Is the client’s Wi-Fi network, if needed, in place, and is its signal strong enough across the site?
  • What software does the client plan to use to manage its AGV missions? Are you expected to supply this (e.g. ANT® server software can be used if the vehicles are driven by BlueBotics’ ANT® lite+ technology), or will an API be needed to connect and manage AGV missions via the client’s existing WMS, MES or ERP system? Be sure to plan this out in detail and ensure your customer fully understands the time and work that might be involved with such an integration.
  • Where can the AGVs be calibrated on-site without disturbing operations? This area should be flat, smooth, fairly large and not filled with clutter.
  • Be sure to clearly communicate what work you expect the client to do ahead of time, no matter how small the task (e.g. installing power cables for battery chargers).
  • Lastly, make sure your key client contacts will be on-site and available during commissioning. Without them, other colleagues might be afraid to take decisions, slowing the project down and causing frustration.

“An ideal installation happens when the AGV buyer is well prepared, which helps you to be well prepared,” says BlueBotics systems engineer Guillaume Rosa-Serrano. “If everything can be prepared well in advance – routes, actions, nodes – then your installation team will just need to concentrate on tuning the vehicle and mapping the site.”

2. NEVER install an AGV that is not ready

According to BlueBotics’ VP of Development, Grégoire Terrien, probably the worst mistake a company can make is to try and install a vehicle that is not ready.

Installing an automated guided vehicle

“If everything can be prepared well in advance – routes, actions, nodes – then your installation team will just need to concentrate on tuning the vehicle and mapping the site”

“Many companies – especially startup producers – feel the need to grow fast and therefore rush to install a vehicle that is not ready to be installed. This never goes well,” he explains. “It means effectively finishing your vehicle at the customer’s site, which gives a terrible impression and usually leads to bad vehicle performance.”

3. Pay close attention to environmental factors

This should be part of the planning process, but it is worth highlighting: do not underestimate the potential of small environmental factors to bring a commissioning process to a grinding halt.

System engineer Guillaume Rosa-Serrano provides an example: “The laser scanners used for localization on one company’s AGV were 2.7 meters above the ground. At one customer’s site the floor sloped down to the center in a soft V-shape, to make sure any water drained away. The AGV was supposed to see the walls of the room as references. The initial installation was done with empty pallets in place and everything worked fine. But, when real pallets were added, the AGV would always become lost because the full pallets were 2.60 meters high which, with the V-shaped floor, meant the AGV could not see any walls at all.”

Once the issue was detected, the team were able to quickly correct it – but this example demonstrates that the environment must be taken into account.

4. Have components ready

It is important to have access to your vehicle’s components during installation in order to avoid delays, says Terrien: “This is particularly important for drives – you might need to tune their parameters or replace them if not. You should also prepare safety components so you have these on hand, like redundant encoders.”

An engineer working on an AGV commissioning project

5. Simulate and test

Before deploying your client’s AGVs, always try to fully simulate the project you have created.

In the case of automated vehicles that run on BlueBotics’ ANT® lite+ platform, simulations are carried out using ANT® server software. This allows you to simulate not only basic missions such as single-vehicle picking and dropping, but even full fleet operations including traffic management.

The value of such a thorough check should not be underestimated. It is perfectly possible, for example, to solve all traffic issues fleet ahead of time – vastly reducing you and your client’s stress level when they finally click “GO”.

“Before deploying your client’s AGVs, be sure to fully simulate the project you have created.”

Camille Boymond, another member of BlueBotics’ systems engineering team, describes a recent commissioning that went smoothly due to the simulations run beforehand: “Working together with our customer, a leading AGV producer, we simulated the end client’s project, which was an installation of five vehicles. Through this, we managed to solve all the traffic issues in advance. We even developed specific devices for the client that we were also able to test.”

The team had been assigned four days to get everything up and running, Boymond says. “We changed a few details on the vehicle to have the behavior the customer wanted, then we tested all the positions with all the vehicles to ensure high accuracy. In the end, we could already prove on day three that the project worked. That meant we had plenty of time to solve those unplanned issues that always pop up and we could leave the site with the client’s AGVs running in production exactly as expected.”

6. Ensure your client’s team are well trained

In addition to careful planning, your client’s own staff will also determine success of their AGV program.

Successful AGV commissioning project
Image credit: Stöcklin Logistik AG

Therefore, it pays to encourage your client to do the following:

  • Minimize staff stress and resentment by communicating clearly and ahead of time about its AGV program. What will the vehicles be doing? How and where will they work? How will their staff need to interact with your products? Some customers find that ‘personalizing’ their AGVs – giving them visible names or adding faces or even just eyes) – can help to create a more harmonious relationship between your client’s humans and its mobile robots.
  • Inform staff when and how the AGV commissioning process will take place. Your client won’t want its staff to be distracted by the process and, equally, you don’t want them to slow down the installation team’s work – so ask your client to keep staff fully informed in order to avoid surprises.
  • Make sure the staff who will operate the AGVs are well suited to the job and train them well.
  • Also, ensure more than one person receives this valuable education. If your client bestows all this knowledge on only one team member and they then leave the company, or get sick, the success of the entire AGV program will be put at risk – which could reduce your company’s future revenue.

In addition to fully training your client’s AGV operators, it is also a good idea to create – or help them to create – an operation manual. Your navigation technology partner, such as BlueBotics, can likely help with this.

7. Be patient & flexible

It is rare for the commissioning process to go 100% smoothly. While you can minimize the pain to a large extent, there will almost always be some hiccups.

One key to success is your relationship with your customer’s team. Be flexible, communicate well, and together adopt a problem-solving mindset,” explains system engineer Armand Lamouille. “A positive spirit of collaboration will make commissioning vehicles more likely to succeed and make the experience more pleasant overall.”

Lastly, and especially if you are new to commissioning AGVs, never underestimate the time required to fine-tune a project before launch. This will take longer than you imagine, but it will be time well spent because it will minimize your client’s future support requests.

Interested in learning more?

Get in touch to learn how quickly and cost-effectively vehicles driven by Autonomous Navigation Technology (ANT®) can be commissioned.

Matt Wade

Head of Marketing | BlueBotics I'm an ex-journalist and love explaining how technology can be used to solve business challenges.
BlueBotics_mini_lite_robot

Let's Get Started

Take the first step to automating your vehicle.
Schedule a call with our expert team today.